Radio Reviews Index from
The Stage


Moira Petty's radio reviews have been appearing in 'The Stage' for many years. Here is an index of links to some of her more recent drama reviews on 'The Stage' website. The writers' names are shown in bold type. One or two of the items reviewed are not drama and they are indicated with an asterisk.

The page is proving to be popular and will be continued.

This set of links is done with the knowledge and permission of Moira Petty and 'The Stage'; to whom - my thanks.....-N.D.

UPDATE - I have the unwelcome news that 'The Stage' is cutting back on its radio drama reviews. From August 2014 onwards, a reduced number of Moira's comments on radio drama will be mixed in with other things (stage, TV, etc) and the self-contained radio drama review page will disappear.


Red Velvet, R4, Saturday, July 19 Lolita Chakrabarti.
Eugenie Grandet, R4, Sunday, July 27 Balzac, dram. Rose Tremaine
The Pursuits of Darleen Fyles, R4, Monday, July 21 Esther Wilson

Pact, R4, Friday, July 11 Tony Pitts
The Events, R4, Friday, July 4 David Greig
Death and the King’s Horseman, R3, Sunday, July 13 Wole Soyinka

The Great Scott – The Bride, R4, Sunday, June 29 Walter Scott, dram. Mike Harris
Music in the Great War – A Soldier and a Maker, R3, Sunday, June 29 Iain Burnside
The Martian Chronicles, R4, Saturday, June 21 Ray Bradbury

Bretton Woods, R3, Sunday, June 15 Steve Waters
Deadheading, R4, Monday, June 9 Val McDermid
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, R4, Sunday, June 15 Philip Dick, dram J. Holloway
If Only, R4, Saturday, June 7 David Edgar

Barnaby Rudge R4, Sunday, May 25
Lost or Stolen R4, Thursday, May 22
When I Lived in Peru R4, Friday, May 16
From A to Z R4, Friday, May 23
Art, Artefacts and Angels R4, Thursday, May 15
The Cloistered Soul R4, Monday, May 19
When the Night Has No Right to Be King R4, Wednesday, May 14

Paris, Nana and Me, R4, Tuesday, May 13
Rock Me Amadeus, R4, Monday, May 12
Magpie, R4, Tuesday, May 20
The Shining Heart, R4, Wednesday, May 21

Antony and Cleopatra R3, Sunday April 20 Shakespeare
Blood Count R4, Friday April 11 Ian Smith
Ring for Jeeves R4, Sunday April 20 Wodehouse, dram. A. Scottney

Payment Deferred, R4, Saturday, April 5 C.S.Forester
The Divine Comedy, R4, Sunday, March 30 Stephen Wyatt
The Boy at the Back, R3, Sunday, March 30 Juan Mayorga

Roots, R3, Sunday March 23 Arnold Wesker
Hamlet, R4, Monday March 24 Shakespeare
Rumpole and the Old Boy Net, R4, Thursday March 20 John Mortimer
Doing Time: The Last Ballad of Reading Gaol, R4, Thursday March 13 Mike Walker

Shirley, R4, Monday, March 10 C.Bronte, dram. R.Joyce
The House of Bernarda Alba R3, Sunday, March 2
What Would Elizabeth Bennet Do? R4, Monday, March 3
Country and Irish, R3, Saturday, March 1

Bowen and Betjeman, R4, Friday, February 14 John Banville
Is Your Love Better than Life?, R3, Sunday, February 16 Frances Byrne
Jonesy, R4, Wednesday, February 26 Tom Wells
The Mysterious Death of Jane Austen, R4, Monday, February 24 Lindsay Ashford

The Witness, R3, Sunday, February 2 Vivienne Franzmann
Head Hunters, R3, Sunday, February 9 Michael Eaton
Anthony Trollope’s Barchester Towers, R4, Sunday, February 2 ad. Nick Warburton

Anthony Trollope’s The Warden, R4, Sunday, January 26 ad. M.S.Roberts
The Moonflask, R4, Saturday, January 25 Paul Sellar
Demon Brother, R4, Wednesday, January 22 and Thursday, January 23Matthew Broughton
A Bag on Ballyfinch Place, R4, Tuesday, January 28 Deirdre Kinahan

Carmen, R4, Monday, January 6
The Brick, R4, Monday, January 13 Selma Dabbagh
Listening to the Dead – Enoch’s Machine, R4, Monday, December 30 Katie Hims
Secrets of the Small Hours, R4, Saturday, January 4 Nick Dear
Old Times, R3, Sunday, January 5 Harold Pinter


In the Depths of Dead Love, R3, Sunday, December 1 Howard Barker
The Postman Always Rings Twice, R4, Saturday, November 30 J.M.Cain, ad. Charlotte Greig
Lost and Found, R4, Monday, December 2 Ian Kershaw
Kindness, R4, Tuesday, December 3 Julian Poidevin

The Russian Gambler, R4, Sunday, November 17 Dostoievsky, ad. Dolya Gavanski
Solomon and Marion, R4, Saturday, November 23 Lara Foot
Bix – Singing the Blues, R3, Sunday, November 17 Robert Forrest
Sorry, Boys, You Failed the Audition, R4, Thursday, November 14 Ray Connolly

The Corrupted R4, Monday, October 21 to Friday, November 1 G.F.Newman
The Outsider, R3, Sunday, November 3 Camus, trans Sandra Smith, ad. John Retallack
The Insider, R3, Saturday, November 2 Leila Aboulela
Queens of the Coal Age, R4, Monday, November 4 Maxine Peake

Orson Welles and The War of the Worlds – Myth or Legend?, R4, Saturday, October 26*

Topaz, R4, Saturday, October 26 Lucy Gannon
Goodbye, R4, Saturday, October 19 Morwenna Banks
The Man in the Lift, R4, Friday, October 18 Tom Connolly

Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk, R4, Friday, October 4 Leskov, dram. Marty Ross
The Confessions of Caminada, R4, Saturday, October 12 Christopher Reason
Democracy for Beginners, R4, Wednesday, October 16 Paul Dornan

Rumours, R4, Saturday, September 21 Colin Shindler
You Never Can Tell, R3, Sunday, September 29 Shaw
Man in the Moon, R4, Tuesday, October 1 Linda M Griffiths

Three Men in a Boat, R4, Sunday, September 15 Jerome, dram. Chris Harrald
For Services Rendered, R4, Saturday, September 7 Maugham, dram. Lu Kemp
Saturday Night and Sunday Morning, R4, Sunday, September 8 Sillitoe, dram. Robert Rigby
Carnival, R4, Tuesday, September 10 Rachel De-Lahay

Darkside, R2, Monday, August 26 Tom Stoppard
When Greed Becomes Hunger, R4, Thursday, August 22 Dave Britton
Bad Elvis, R4, Tuesday, August 27 Katie Hims
Georgy Girl, R4, Monday, September 2 Margaret Forster, dram. Rhisannon Tise

Watch Me, R4, Monday, August 12 Sarah Woods
Sense and Sensibility, R4, Sunday, August 11 Jane Auste, dram. Helen Edmundson
How to Have a Perfect Marriage, R4, Monday, August 12 Nicholas McInerny
Jake Liebowitz – A Life in Film, R4, Saturday, August 10 Fred Raphael

Hush! Hush! Whisper Who Dares!, R4, Thursday, July 25 Christopher William Hill
Rhapsody, R4, Monday, July 29 Christopher William Hill
Miss You Still, R4, Thursday, August 1 Lenny Henry
Obey The Wave, R4, Wednesday, August 7 Ed Hime

The Mighty Carlins, available to download at www.wirelesstheatrecompany.co.uk
Three Pieces in the Shape of a Pear, R4, Monday, July 15 Alistair McGowan
Irongate, R4, Monday, July 22 Nick Warburton
When I Lost You, R4, Friday, July 19 Rachel Wagstaff / Duncan Abel
Lunch, R4, Monday, July 15 Marcy Kahan

The three James Lees-Milne dramas by C.W.Hill, R4, 8-10 July, are covered briefly in the bulletin beginning 'Hush, Hush!', above.

The Stuarts – It Came in with a Lass, R4, Saturday, June 29 Mike Walker
Imo and Ben, R3, Sunday, June 30
The Means to an End, R4, Thursday, June 27 Sarah Cartwright
Birthday Shoes, R4, Friday, June 28 Pat David

London Bridge, R4, Wednesday, June 19 Nick Perry
Death Duty, R4, Thursday, June 20 Michael Butt
Invasion, R4, Tuesday, June 18 Philip Palmer
The Testament of Jessie Lamb, R4, Monday, June 17 Jane Rogers
Billions, R4, Monday, June 17 Ed Harris
The Drowned World, R4, Sunday, June 16 J.G.Ballard / Graham White
Concrete Island, R4, Sunday, June 23 J.G.Ballard / Graham White
Suspicion for 10 Voices, R4, Saturday, June 22 Mark Lawson
Mind Hackers, R4, Friday, June 21 Lou Stein / Charlotte Harris

The Letter of Last Resort, R4, Saturday, June 1 David Greig
The Weather Girl, R4, Saturday, June 8 Fay Weldon
The Radetzky March, R4, Sunday, June 2 Joseph Roth / Gregory Evans
Little Monster, R4, Tuesday, June 11 Gerard Foster

The Pickerskill Reports – The Final Report, R4, Monday, May 27 Andrew McGibbon
Goodnight From Him, R4, Monday, May 27 Roy Smiles
The Last Tycoon, R4, Saturday, May 18 F.S.Fitzgerald / Bill Bryden
Dotty Rogers – My Life in Movies, R4, Friday, May 24 Charlotte B Macleod
One Winter’s Afternoon, R3, Sunday, May 19 Guy Meredith

Tony and Rose, R4, Tuesday, May 7 Nicola Baldwin
Jungle of Cities, R3, Sunday, May 12 Bertolt Brecht / Mark Ravenhill
Love, Etc, R4, Saturday, May 4 Julian Barnes / Julia Stoneham
Dead Man’s Suit, R4, Friday, May 3 Michael Stewart
Angel Pavement, R4, Sunday, May 5 J.B.Priestley

Love, War and Trains, R4, Wednesday, May 1 Ian McMillan
Before the Fact, R4, Saturday, April 20 Anthony Berkeley Cox
Cash Cow, R4, Thursday, April 18 Ewa Banaszkiewicz

Present Laughter, R4, Saturday, April 6 Noel Coward
The Flea, R4, Tuesday, April 16 Michael Symmons Roberts
A Girl in Winter, R4, Sunday, April 7 Philip Larkin
Once Upon a Time There Was a Beatrix, R4, Thursday, April 11. Lavinia Murray

A Larkin Double: Jill R4, Sunday, March 31 Philip Larkin
Lost in Mexico R4, Monday, March 25; Tuesday, March 26 Ingeborg Topsøe; Goldhawk
Hombre R4, Saturday, March 23 Elmore Leonard, dram. Robert Ferguson
The Water Babies: A Modern Fairy Tale R4, Sunday, March 24 Kingsley, dram. Paul Farley

The Wire – The Startling Truths of Old World Sparrows, R3, Saturday, March 16 Fiona Evans
Hedda Gabler, R4, Saturday, March 9 Henrik Ibsen
Esther Waters, R4, Sunday, March 10 George Moore, dram Sharon Oakes
Take Me to Redcar, R4, Monday, March 11 Sarah McDonald Hughes
Love’s Worst Day, R4, Tuesday, March 19 Gary Mitchell
The Silence at the Song’s End, R4, Wednesday, March 6 Libby Purves

King David, R3, Sunday, February 24 Katie Hims
Well, He Would, Wouldn’t He?, R4, Saturday, February 23 Charlotte Williams - Profumo
The Pursuits of Darleen Fyles, R4, Monday, February 11 to Friday, February 15 Esther Wilson, series 4
Pather Panchali – Song of the Road, R4, Sunday, February 24 Bibhuti Banerji, dram. Tanika Gupta

The Liberty of Norton Folgate, R4, Saturday, February 9 Mark Vadies Markham, musical drama
The Wind in the Willows, R4, Saturday, February 16 Kenneth Grahame, dram. & music by Neil Brand
Drama on 3 – Mrs Updike, R3, Sunday, February 10 Margaret Heffernan
Nineteen Eighty-Four, R4, Sunday, February 10 George Orwell, dram. Jonathan Holloway
Clare in the Community, R4, Wednesday, February 6 Harry Venning & David Ramsden

Skios, R4, Saturday, January 12 Michael Frayn
Headlong, R4, Saturday, January 19 Michael Frayn novel, dram. Robin Brooks
Copenhagen, R3, Sunday, January 13 Michael Frayn: meeting of Bohr and Heisenberg

The Eustace Diamonds, R4, from Sunday, December 23 Trollope, dram. Rose Tremain
The Reluctant Spy, R4, from Wednesday, January 2 John Dryden: Arab Spring
Second Body, R4, Wednesday, January 9 Trevor Preston
Clare in the Community, R4, from Wednesday, January 2 Harry Venning & David Ramsden


Two Minutes Hate, R4, Thursday, November 29 Kieran Prendville
We are the BBC, available to download at www.wirelesstheatrecompany.co.uk*
Bearing Witness, R4, Wednesday, December 12 Philip Palmer: war crimes in Yugoslavia; legal drama
Sydney Chambers and the Shadow of Death, R4 Extra, Monday, December 10 James Runcie, sleuthing vicar

Country Life, download available now at www.wirelesstheatrecompany.co.uk*
The Mysterious Case of Maria, R4, Thursday, November 22 Florence Vincent et al
Beryl – A Love Story on Two Wheels, R4, Tuesday, November 27 Maxine Peake

Midnight Cry of the Deathbird R3, Sunday, October 28 Amanda Dalton dramatizes "Nosferatu"
Bloody Poetry R4, Saturday, October 20 Howard Brenton
Frankenstein R4, Sunday, October 28 Mary Shelley, dram. Lucy Catherine

A Doll’s House, R3, Sunday, October 7 Henrik Ibsen
Dracula, R4, Sunday, October 14 Bram Stoker, dram. Rebecca Lenkiewicz, prod. Jessica Dromgoole
The Air Gap, R4, Saturday, October 6 Steve Waters: Wikileaks


Radio Plays
Wine Making
Cosby Methodist Church
Gokart Racing
Links to other sites
Sitemap xml
Contact Us