Tinniswood Award, 2012

for plays broadcast during 2011 and first half of 2012


NEWSFLASH from Audio Drama Awards, Jan 2013:

For plays broadcast Jan 11- Jun 12:
  • RUNNER-UP: Angarrack by Christopher William Hill
  • WINNER: Kafka the Musical by Murray Gold (24 Apr 11)
  • RUNNER-UP: Like Minded People by David Eldridge
    Judges: Meg Davis, Jonathan Myerson, Tim Stimpson.

    27 Jan 2013


    By Murray Gold. Drama on 3. Kafka is trapped in a musical about his life. Franz Kafka ..... David Tennant, Father ..... David Fleeshman, Mother ..... Joanna Monro, Milena ..... Naomi Frederick, Felice ..... Jessica Raine, Dora ..... Emerald O'Hanrahan, Barman / Singer / Doctor ..... Trevor Allan Davies, Newspaper Seller / Man ..... Brian Bowles. Music by Murray Gold. Producer Jeremy Mortimer.

    Murray Gold's first radio play Electricity won the Richard Imison award for best new play after its broadcast on Radio 3 in 2001. He is also a composer.He has been nominated for a BAFTA four times in the category Best Original Television Music, for Vanity Fair (1999), Queer as Folk (2000), Casanova (2006) and Doctor Who (2008). He wrote the theme tune for the Channel 4 series Shameless and the music for the period drama The Devil's Whore.

    Friday Play. David Eldridge's play follows a marriage as it falters over 25 years of political change. Gillian ..... Ruth Wilson, Ray ..... Tom Brooke, produced by Sally Avens.

    BBC blurb: "Gillian and Ray meet at University. She's from a privileged background whilst his father works in a hardware shop and his mother's a dinner lady. Despite this disparity they embark on a relationship. A relationship that may well have burnt itself out except for a car accident which binds them together through a mixture of guilt and need. As their lives progress we are given an intimate portrait of the ups and downs of marriage and the political and social changes that help shape our lives."

    Woman's Hour Drama, 5 x 12m. Christopher William Hill's play revolves around the future of a crumbling Cornish ancestral estate in the immediate aftermath of the Second World War. Sir Richard Penwerris, in debt, wishes to bequeath his estate to the National Trust, against the wishes of his wife, who plans to drag the estate, into the 20th century. Matters are complicated by the emergence of an heir to the estate, Rafe Penwerris, whom his father believed had died in the war. Cast: Sir Richard Penwerris ..... Richard Johnson , Lady Helen ...... Lia Williams, Rafe ...... Harry Hadden-Paton, Tregunna ....... Tony Haygarth, Ralston ....... Nicholas Boulton. Incidental Music: composed by David Chilton. Producer: Gordon House, for indie producer Goldhawk Essential.

    Just received from Jo McCrum, Society of Authors....

    Thank you for all those who have already submitted scripts for the 2011/12 awards.

    To coordinate with next year’s BBC Audio Awards we requested 18 months of scripts (January 2011 – June 2012) rather than the usual 12 months. We appreciate that it has been difficult for producers to submit scripts to be broadcast over March-June 2012 and wish to extend the deadline for those plays (and those plays only) to 1 May. After this date we will not accept any late entries.

    The following year we will accept entries for 2012/13 awards from July 2012-December 2013. After this, our judging procedure should be in synch with the BBC Audio Awards, should they continue.

    Imison entries should be sent to Jo McCrum, The Society of Authors, 84 Drayton Gardens, London, SW10 9SB. Tinniswood entries should be sent to Anne Hogben, Writers’ Guild of Great Britain, 40 Rosebery Avenue, London, EC1R 4RX. For further information and entry forms please see www.societyofauthors.org

    10 Feb 2012



    The Tinniswood Award for best original radio drama

    The Tiniswood Award honours the best original radio drama script broadcast in the UK over 2011 and until 30 June 2012. The work must be an original piece for radio, and may also include the first episode from an original series or serial. When submitting 15-minute episodes from a series or serial we will require consecutive episodes (including the first episode) to make up at least 45 minutes. The judges reserve the right to call in the subsequent episodes if required. We welcome 30-minute plays provided they were stand-alone and that characters and situations are original to the writer. An adaptation for radio of a piece originally written for any other medium will not be eligible.

    Submissions will be accepted from producers only and are restricted to a maximum of two entries per producer. Submissions must consist of:

    • a complete nomination form from the producer;

    • four copies of the writer’s script (as broadcast);

    • a non-refundable entry fee of £50 (cheques should be made out to ‘The Writers’ Guild’ or by BACs to Unity Trust Bank, Account Name: Writers' Guild of Great Britain Tinniswood Award, Account No. 2013995, Sort Code: 08-60-01. Raising an invoice can be arranged.

    • a supporting statement, 250 word synopsis 250 words author biography (which should be emailed to anne@writersguild.org.uk

    Entries will not be returned and should be sent to Anne Hogben, Writers’ Guild of Great Britain, 40 Rosebery Avenue, London, EC1R 4RX.

    Judges for the 2012 award are yet to be confirmed. We are grateful to the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society Ltd (ALCS) for their generous sponsorship of the Tinniswood Award.

    Nigel Deacon


    ..2011.. ..2010.. ..2009.. ..2008.. ..2007.. ..2006.. ..2005.. ..2004..

    Back to top


  • Radio Plays
    Wine Making
    Cosby Methodist Church
    Gokart Racing
    Links to other sites
    Sitemap xml
    Contact Us