For plays broadcast from
1 Oct 2017-31 Oct 2018

I have been contacted by Theo Jones of the Society of Authors, who writes as follows:

Call for Entries – Imison and Tinniswood Awards!

We were delighted to see Adam Usden win the 2018 Imison Award with his radio play The Book of Yehudit (produced by Charlotte Riches, BBC Radio Drama Salford) and Sarah Woods awarded the Tinniswood for Borderland (produced by James Robinson, BBC Cymru Wales) at the BBC Radio Drama Awards held in January of this year.

Help us continue to celebrate the best audio drama by sending in your 2019 entries. Scripts have to be broadcast in the UK over 1 October 2017 - 31 October 2018. Please apply with all supporting materials before 29 September 2018.

Imison Award - Ł3,000

Best original script by a writer new to audio drama with the Ł3,000 prize sponsored by the Peggy Ramsay Foundation. The application form and entry details can be found at SoA Imison Applications

Information about the 2018 winners can be found on our Imison 2018 page. Earlier years can be found at the bottom of this page.

The 2019 judges are committee members of the Society of Authors Scriptwriters Group: Stefan Buczacki, Isla Gray, Catherine Johnson, Jamila Gavin, Nell Leyshon, David Morley, Hilary Robinson, Hannah Silva, Sean Grundy and Elizabeth-Anne Wheal.

Administered by the Society of Authors.

TJ / 2 Aug 2018

2018 2017 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1997 1995 1994

A summary of past Imison winners is shown below. Note that 2016 is not missing; there was a change in the way the year was worked out.

2018 The Book of Yehudit, by Adam Usden
2017 Comment is Free, by James Fritz
2015 Thirty Eggs, by Eoin O'Connor
2014 How To Say Goodbye Properly, by E.V.Crowe
2013 The Loving Ballad of Captain Bateman, by Joseph Wilde
2012 Do You Like Banana, Comrades? by Csaba Székely
2011 Amazing Grace, by Michelle Lipton
2010 The Road Wife, by Eoin McNamee
2009 Girl from Mars,by Lucy Caldwell
2008 Adam Beeson, for The Magician's Daughter
2007 Mike Bartlettt, for Not Talking
2006 Nazrin Choudhury, for Mixed Blood
2005 Steve Coombs, for Mr. Sex
2004 Stephen Sharkey, for All You on the Good Earth
2003 N.Leyshon & S. McAnena for Milk; Celia Bryce for The Skategrinder
2002 Rhiannon Tise, for The Waltzer
2001 Murray Gold, for Electricity
2000 Peter Morgan, for A Matter of Interpretation
1999 Ben Cooper, for Skin Deep
1998 Katie Hims, for Earthquake Girl
1997 John Waters, for Holy Secrets (jt); Rosemary Kay, for Wilde Belles
1996 Lee Hall, for I Love You Jimmy Spud
1995 Gerry Stembridge, for Daisy the Cow who Talked (jt) and James Stock, for Kissing the Gargoyle
1994 Gabriel Gbadamosi, for The Long Hot Summer of '76


Back to top

Radio Plays
Wine Making
Cosby Methodist Church
Gokart Racing
Links to other sites
Contact Us